Pages Navigation Menu

News, Articles, Videos & More!

Legendary football teams in the history of World Cup

The FIFA World Cup, an international association football competition contested by the men’s national teams of FIFA members. This is the most widely-viewed sports event in the world. People all over the world are looking forward to watching the upcoming 2010 World Cup which will be held in South Africa. Before waiting for the important event taking place, let’s have a review at the legendary football teams in the history of the FIFA World Cup.


France 1998

France, the host nation of the 1998 FIFA World Cup won the title, beating Brazil 3-0 in the final. France became the seventh nation to win a World Cup, and the first host nation to win the tournament since Argentina in 1978.


The 1998 FIFA World Cup champion



Argentina 1986

The 1986 FIFA World Cup was won by Argentina who beat West Germany 3-2 in the final at Estadio Azteca, Mexico. Eight years on from their home triumph, Argentina regained the world title. Maradona was the Golden Ball winner as the best player of the tournament, Gary Lineker of England won the Golden Boot as the leading scorer with six goals.


Maradona was the Golden Ball winner as the best player of the tournament


West Germany 1974

The 1974 FIFA World Cup, which was held in West Germany, marked the first time that the current trophy, the FIFA World Cup Trophy, was awarded. The host nation won the title, beating the Netherlands in the final, 2-1.


The West Germans beat their bitter rivals


Brazil 1958

Brazil won the 1958 FIFA World Cup, the sixth staging of the World Cup which was hosted by Sweden. Brazil beat Sweden 5-2 in the final for their first title. The 1958 Word Cup marked the first appearance of unknown 17 year-old Pele on the world stage.


The World Cup marked the debut on the world stage of a precocious and unknown player Pele.


Netherlands 1974

West Germany and Netherlands in the final of the 1974 World Cup in West Germany were undoubtfully the best teams in the world at that time. West Germany defended European champions. However, Netherlands still shone with best players like Johann Cruff, Neeskens, Rep, and Resenbrink.


The Dutch line-up for the final of the 1974 World Cup


Argentina 1978

The 1978 FIFA World Cup, which was held in Argentina was won by the host who beat the Netherlands 3-1 after extra time in the final. Argentina became the fifth team after Uruguay, Italy, England, and West Germany to be both hosts and world champions.


Kempes scored his second goal of the match.

I am an internet marketer and freelance photographer. I maintain various sites and blogs with a large audience. My hobby is collecting photographs of celebrities and writing comments on outstanding events in the field of entertainment.

Find More Football Reviews Articles

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *